BatteryInfo message

Hi Everyone,
I’m completely new to UAVCAN and just managed to get it working on a stm32f042 processor. I am able to send heartbeat messages every second from my node. Next i want to send some battery information such as realtime current, realtime voltage and total charge consumed. etc.

Searching the internet it seemed like there was standard format (https://uavcan.org/Specification/7._List_of_standard_data_types/#batteryinfo) but it could have changed after v1.0 release.

Any advise on how to do this of the places i need to look for direction would be helpful.

Even if your application has nothing to do with drones, you may benefit from adopting the DS-015 data distribution standard. Entry points for you:

We are currently working on a set of comprehensive examples and tutorials to lower the entry barriers.

Thanks for your response. The device certainly has application in drones too. I shall refer to your links and revert back in case of doubt.

I went through the linked documents and i have a couple of doubts since i’m new to the specification. I am in the process of creating two related products,

First, is the equivalent of a power brick and hence should provide a minimum of current voltage and current. Charge (mah or watt) can be a optional additional parameter.

Second, is a BMS which should provide the additional information of battery % (or absolute values)

My questions are as follows:

1. What should be the sign of the value for current in each product?
  2. What should be the subject id? I suspect, it should be negotiated. I dont yet fully understand how the negotiation works. A timing / sequence diagram with the messages involved would be helpful.

Since, I’m new to the DSDL and the .uavcan file format would this be the format for Power.0.1.uavcan

struct UAVCANPowerInfo
{
float32 current;
float32 voltage;
}