[PyDSDL] Development of a Linter Engine

Hello Cyphal Community! I am an intern for this summer working on developing a local linter engine for PyDSDL. For this project’s scope, I have several formatting and alignment related rules I want to implement. However, I want to hear what you as a whole think and receive some guidance as well.

Formatting: To get started, I wanted to first complete an easy rule, which would require the user to have a copyright as the first line of their code.

Alignment: In the case of sealed directives, the linter would warn the user about sub-optimal alignment. Usage of void padding or reordering would be my approach as a standard. Suggestions on the alignment standard would be appreciated.

I will continue to update you all with their status and what their application to PyDSDL will mean for future Cyphal file standards. My primary focus is on .dsdl file support.

4 Likes

Hi Samuel, this is nice.

The linting logic should reside outside of PyDSDL, right? If necessary, we can enrich its API with the hooks needed for the linter

This is an interesting idea. So, we’d define a set of hooks appropriate for various linters to be developed? Would linters be injected (e.g. via Pluggy) or would you have to manually register linters with the library before invoking it?

My assumption was that a linter is a separate application that uses PyDSDL as the parsing front-end.

Current plans are to host the linter within PyDSDL, but in the future it is very possible to have an independent API host the engine. I will be using a fork of PyDSDL for now. If it falls within the scope, I hopefully merge a hooked version of the linter. I’m absolutely open to creating a new repo for it once I know what I’m looking for.

Reading back, I realize I wasn’t being concise with what I was asking in regards to the formatting rule. I was asked to address the sub-optimal alignment caused by void padding. I’ll be referring to Figure 3.7.5.1 from the Cyphal Specification.