Demo_app.py utilizing can as transport layer

Hi all,

I am fairly new to the game of CAN and Cyphal. I did the pycyphal.com demo, which works like a charm for UDP as transport layer. Now, I would like to utilize CAN as transport layer, instead of UDP. To do this I changed the code accordingly:

export UAVCAN__NODE__ID=42                           # Set the local node-ID 42 (anonymous by default)
export UAVCAN__CAN__IFACE="socketcan:can0"           # Use CAN can0 as transport layer
export UAVCAN__CAN__BITRATE="500000 5000000"         # 500kbits
export UAVCAN__CAN__MTU=16                           # Maximum Transmission Unit (largest package size for a single frame)
export UAVCAN__SUB__TEMPERATURE_SETPOINT__ID=2345    # Subject "temperature_setpoint"    on ID 2345
export UAVCAN__SUB__TEMPERATURE_MEASUREMENT__ID=2346 # Subject "temperature_measurement" on ID 2346
export UAVCAN__PUB__HEATER_VOLTAGE__ID=2347          # Subject "heater_voltage"          on ID 2347
export UAVCAN__SRV__LEAST_SQUARES__ID=123            # Service "least_squares"           on ID 123
export UAVCAN__DIAGNOSTIC__SEVERITY=2 

based on scarcely scattered information on this forum. can0 of course exists, hence

sudo ip link set can0 up type can bitrate 500000
ifconfig

returns

can0: flags=193<UP,RUNNING,NOARP>  mtu 16
        unspec 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  txqueuelen 10  (UNSPEC)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

and then when running python3 demo_app.py simply returns Running. Press Ctrl+C to stop., as expected. But when aborting, it prints

CDiagnosticPublisher(Publisher(dtype=uavcan.diagnostic.Record.1.1, transport_session=BroadcastCANOutputSession(OutputSessionSpecifier
(data_specifier=MessageDataSpecifier(subject_id=8184), remote_node_id=None), PayloadMetadata(extent_bytes=300)))) TIMEOUT